Home>Elections 2019>European Parliemant Election Update
Elections 2019

European Parliemant Election Update

Counting continues in the Ireland South Constituency. Sean Kelly (FG) was elected on the 9th count with Billy Kelleher (FF) currently in second place, Mick Wallace (I4C) third, Liadh Ni Riada (SF) fourth and Grace O’Sullivan (GP) in fifth place. This is a five seat constituency but the winner of the final seat cannot take his/her seat until the UK has left the EU.

Counting has finished in the Dublin Constituency with Ciran Cuffe (GP) elected on the 13th count. The remaining 3 seats were taken by Frances Fitzgerald (FG) on the 14th count, and Clare Daly (I4C) and Barry Andrews (FF) both on the 16th count. Barry Andrews cannot take his seat until the UK has left the EU.

In the Midlands-North West Constituency Mairead McGuinness was elected on the 1st count yesterday. Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (IND) is currently in 2nd place with Matt McCarthy (SF) in third place and Maria Walsh (FG) in fourth place.

Meanwhile in Northern Ireland Dianne Dodds (DUP) took the first seat in this 3-seater constituency on the 3rd count. Naomi Long (AP) took the second seat in the fifth count and Martina Anderson (SF) was also elected on the 5th count.